[FM-India] SPIN 2017 in Santa Barbara, CA, USA - 1 month from the paper submission deadline

Madhavan Mukund madhavan at cmi.ac.in
Wed Jan 11 08:47:59 IST 2017

----- Forwarded message -----

Date: Tue, 10 Jan 2017 23:26:43 +0000
From: "Havelund, Klaus (348B)" <Klaus.Havelund at jpl.nasa.gov>
To: "fm-announcements at lists.nasa.gov" <fm-announcements at lists.nasa.gov>
Subject: [fm-announcements] SPIN 2017 in Santa Barbara, CA, USA - 1 month
 from the paper submission deadline

                                   SPIN 2017

          24th International Symposium on Model Checking of Software

                   Santa Barbara, CA, USA, July 13-14, 2017


                            Collocated with ISSTA 


The SPIN symposium aims at bringing together researchers and practitioners
interested in automated tool-based techniques for the analysis of software as
well as models of software, for the purpose of verification and validation. The
symposium specifically focuses on concurrent software, but does not exclude
analysis of sequential software. Submissions are solicited on theoretical
results, novel algorithms, tool development, empirical evaluation, and

History: The SPIN symposium originated as a workshop focusing on explicit state
model checking, specifically as related to the Spin model checker. However,
over the years it has evolved to a broadly scoped symposium for software
analysis using any automated techniques, including model checking, automated
theorem proving, and symbolic execution.

An overview of the previous SPIN symposia (and early workshops) can be found
at: http://spinroot.com/spin/symposia.

SPIN 2017 will be organized as an ACM SIGSOFT event, collocated with the
International Symposium on Software Testing and Analysis (ISSTA 2017): http://

The RERS Verification Challenge

In addition there will be a one-day Rigorous Examination of Reactive Systems
verification challenge Workshop (RERS 2017): http://www.rers-challenge.org/2017


SPIN 2017 Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Formal verification techniques for automated analysis of software
  • Formal analysis for modeling languages, such as UML/state charts
  • Formal specification languages, temporal logic, design-by-contract
  • Model checking
  • Automated theorem proving, including SAT and SMT
  • Verifying compilers
  • Abstraction and symbolic execution techniques
  • Static analysis and abstract interpretation
  • Combination of verification techniques
  • Modular and compositional verification techniques
  • Verification of timed and probabilistic systems
  • Automated testing using advanced analysis techniques
  • Combination of static and dynamic analyses
  • Derivation of specifications, test cases, or other useful material via
    formal analysis
  • Case studies of interesting systems or with interesting results
  • Engineering and implementation of software verification and analysis tools
  • Benchmark and comparative studies for formal verification and analysis
  • Formal methods education and training
  • Insightful surveys or historical accounts on topics of relevance to the

                             Submission Guidelines


The contributions to SPIN 2017 will be published as ACM Proceedings, and should
be submitted in the ACM Conference Format: https://www.acm.org/publications/

Submissions must be original and should not have been published previously or
be under consideration for publication while being evaluated for this
symposium. Authors are required to adhere to the ACM Policy and Procedures on
Plagiarism and the ACM Policy on Prior Publication and Simultaneous

We are soliciting two categories of papers:

  • Full Research Papers describing fully developed work and complete results
    (10 pages);
  • Short Papers presenting tools, technology, experiences with lessons
    learned, new ideas, work in progress with preliminary results, and novel
    contributions to formal methods education (4 pages).

Papers should be submitted via the EasyChair SPIN 2017 submission website: 

Best Paper awards will be given and announced at the conference. 

A selection of papers will be invited to a special issue of the International
Journal on Software Tools for Technology Transfer (STTT).

                                Important Dates


  • Paper Submission: February 10, 2017 (23:59:59 Anywhere on Earth)
  • Author Notification: April 15, 2017
  • Camera-Ready Paper: May 20, 2017
  • Symposium: July 13-14, 2017



  • Hakan Erdogmus, Program Co-Chair, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Klaus Havelund, Program Co-Chair, NASA/Caltech Jet Propulsion Laboratory,
  • Corina Pasareanu, Awards Chair, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
  • Yliès Falcone, Publicity Chair, Univ. Grenoble Alpes, Inria, France

                               Program Committee


  • Erika Abraham, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Christel Baier, Technical University of Dresden, Germany
  • Tom Ball, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Ezio Bartocci, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Dirk Beyer, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU Munich), Germany
  • Armin Biere, Johannes Kepler University, Austria
  • Dragan Bosnacki, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Zmago Brezocnik, University of Maribor, Slovenia
  • Sagar Chaki, Software Engineering Institute CMU, USA
  • Alessandro Cimatti, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy
  • Lucas Cordeiro, University of Oxford, UK
  • Patrice Godefroid, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Susanne Graf, VERIMAG Laboratory, France
  • Radu Grosu, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Arie Gurfinkel, University of Waterloo, USA
  • Gerard Holzmann, NASA/Caltech Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
  • Rajeev Joshi, NASA/Caltech Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
  • Sarfraz Khurshid, The University of Texas at Austin, USA
  • Kim Larsen, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Stefan Leue, University of Konstanz, Germany
  • Alice Miller, University of Glasgow, Scotland
  • Corina Pasareanu, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
  • Doron Peled, Bar Ilan University, Israel
  • Neha Rungta, Amazon Web Services, USA
  • Theo Ruys, RUwise, Netherlands
  • Scott Smolka, Stony Brook University, USA
  • Scott Stoller, Stony Brook University, United States
  • Jun Sun, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
  • Oksana Tkachuk, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
  • Stavros Tripakis, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Willem Visser, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Farn Wang, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Michael Whalen, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Anton Wijs, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

----- End forwarded message -----

More information about the FMIndia mailing list