[FM-India] SPIN 2017 - Call for papers

Madhavan Mukund madhavan at cmi.ac.in
Fri Nov 4 07:55:29 IST 2016

 Date: Thu, 3 Nov 2016 23:25:54 +0000
 From: "Havelund, Klaus (348B)" <Klaus.Havelund at jpl.nasa.gov>
 To: "fm-announcements at lists.nasa.gov" <fm-announcements at lists.nasa.gov>
 Subject: [fm-announcements] SPIN 2017 - Call for papers
                                    SPIN 2017
           24th International Symposium on Model Checking of Software
                    Santa Barbara, CA, USA, July 13-14, 2017
                             Collocated with ISSTA 
 The SPIN symposium aims at bringing together researchers and practitioners
 interested in automated tool-based techniques for the analysis of software as
 well as models of software, for the purpose of verification and validation. The
 symposium specifically focuses on concurrent software, but does not exclude
 analysis of sequential software. Submissions are solicited on theoretical
 results, novel algorithms, tool development, and empirical evaluation.
 History: The SPIN symposium originated as a workshop focusing on explicit state
 model checking, specifically as related to the Spin model checker. However,
 over the years it has evolved to a broadly scoped symposium for software
 analysis using any automated techniques, including model checking, automated
 theorem proving, symbolic execution, etc.
 SPIN 2017 will be arranged as a ACM SIGSOFT event, collocated with the
 International Symposium on Software Testing and Analysis (ISSTA 2017): http://
 conf.researchr.org/home/issta-2017. An overview of the previous SPIN symposia
 (and early workshops) can be found at: http://spinroot.com/spin/symposia.
 Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
   • Formal verification techniques for automated analysis of software
   • Formal analysis for modeling languages, such as UML/state charts
   • Formal specification languages, temporal logic, design-by-contract
   • Model checking
   • Automated theorem proving, including SAT and SMT
   • Verifying compilers
   • Abstraction and symbolic execution techniques
   • Static analysis and abstract interpretation
   • Combination of verification techniques
   • Modular and compositional verification techniques
   • Verification of timed and probabilistic systems
   • Automated testing using advanced analysis techniques
   • Combination of static and dynamic analyses
   • Derivation of specifications, test cases, or other useful material via
     formal analysis
   • Case studies of interesting systems or with interesting results
   • Engineering and implementation of software verification and analysis tools
   • Benchmark and comparative studies for formal verification and analysis
   • Formal methods education and training
   • Insightful surveys or historical accounts on topics of relevance to the
                              Submission Guidelines
 The contributions to SPIN 2017 will be published as ACM Proceedings, and should
 be submitted in the ACM Conference Format: https://www.acm.org/publications/
 With the exception of survey and history papers, submissions must be original
 and should not have been published previously or be under consideration for
 publication while being evaluated for this symposium. 
 We are soliciting two categories of papers:
   • Full Research Papers describing fully developed work and complete results
     (10 pages);
   • Short Papers presenting tools, technology, experiences with lessons
     learned, new ideas, work in progress with preliminary results, and novel
     contributions to formal methods education (4 pages).
 Papers should be submitted via the EasyChair SPIN 2017 submission website: 
 Best Paper awards will be given and announced at the conference. 
 A selection of papers will be invited to a special issue of the International
 Journal on Software Tools for Technology Transfer (STTT).
                                 Important Dates
   • Paper Submission: February 10, 2017 (23:59:59 Anywhere on Earth)
   • Author Notification : April 15, 2017
   • Camera-Ready Paper: May 20, 2017
   • Symposium : July 13-14, 2017
                                 Program Chairs
   • Hakan Erdogmus, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
   • Klaus Havelund, NASA/Caltech Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
                                  Awards Chair
   • Corina Pasareanu, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
                                Program Committee
   • Erika Abraham, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
   • Christel Baier, Technical University of Dresden, Germany
   • Tom Ball, Microsoft Research, USA
   • Ezio Bartocci, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
   • Dirk Beyer, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU Munich), Germany
   • Armin Biere, Johannes Kepler University, Austria
   • Dragan Bosnacki, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
   • Zmago Brezocnik, University of Maribor, Slovenia
   • Sagar Chaki, Software Engineering Institute CMU, USA
   • Alessandro Cimatti, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy
   • Lucas Cordeiro, University of Oxford, UK
   • Patrice Godefroid, Microsoft Research, USA
   • Susanne Graf, VERIMAG Laboratory, France
   • Radu Grosu, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
   • Arie Gurfinkel, University of Waterloo, USA
   • Gerard Holzmann, NASA/Caltech Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
   • Sarfraz Khurshid, The University of Texas at Austin, USA
   • Kim Larsen, Aalborg University, Denmark
   • Stefan Leue, University of Konstanz, Germany
   • Alice Miller, University of Glasgow, Scotland
   • Corina Pasareanu, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
   • Doron Peled, Bar Ilan University, Israel
   • Neha Rungta, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
   • Theo Ruys, RUwise, Netherlands
   • Scott Smolka, Stony Brook University, USA
   • Scott Stoller, Stony Brook University, United States
   • Jun Sun, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
   • Oksana Tkachuk, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
   • Stavros Tripakis, University of California, Berkeley, USA
   • Willem Visser, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
   • Farn Wang, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
   • Michael Whalen, University of Minnesota, USA
   • Anton Wijs, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

More information about the FMIndia mailing list