[FM-India] FTSCS 2019: call for papers

Étienne André Andre.Etienne at lipn13.fr
Wed Aug 7 08:08:34 IST 2019


                      Call for Papers

                          FTSCS 2019

7th International Workshop on Formal Techniques for Safety-Critical Systems

              Shenzhen, China, November, 9, 2019

   (satellite workshop of ICFEM 2019)

                    http://www.ftscs.org <http://www.ftscs.org/>


*** Science of Computer Programming special issue ***

*** Springer CCIS proceedings ***

Submission deadline: September 3, 2019

Aims and Scope:

There is an increasing demand for using formal methods to validate and

verify safety-critical systems in fields such as power generation and

distribution, avionics, automotive systems, medical systems, and

autonomous vehicles. In particular, newer standards, such as DO-178C

(avionics), ISO 26262 (automotive systems), IEC 62304 (medical

devices), and CENELEC EN 50128 (railway systems), emphasize the need

for formal methods and model-based development, thereby speeding up

the adaptation of such methods in industry.

The aim of this workshop is to bring together researchers and engineers

who are interested in the application of formal and semi-formal methods

to improve the quality of safety-critical computer systems. FTSCS

strives to promote research and development of formal methods and

tools for industrial applications, and is particularly interested in

industrial applications of formal methods. 

Specific topics include, but are not limited to:

* case studies and experience reports on the use of formal methods for

  analyzing safety-critical systems, including avionics, automotive,

  medical, railway, and other kinds of safety-critical and

  QoS-critical systems 

* methods, techniques and tools to support automated analysis,

  certification, debugging, etc., of safety/QoS-critical systems

* analysis methods that address the limitations of formal methods in

  industry (usability, scalability, etc.)

* formal analysis support for modeling languages used in industry,

  such as AADL, Ptolemy, SysML, SCADE, Modelica, etc.

* code generation from validated models.

The workshop will provide a platform for discussions and the exchange of

innovative ideas, so submissions on work in progress are encouraged.


We solicit submissions reporting on:

A- original research contributions (16 pages max, LNCS format);

B- applications and experiences (16 pages max, LNCS format);

C- surveys, comparisons, and state-of-the-art reports (16 pages max, LNCS);

D- tool papers (6 pages max, LNCS format);

E- position papers and work in progress (6 pages max, LNCS format)

related to the topics mentioned above.

All submissions must be original, unpublished, and not submitted

concurrently for publication elsewhere. Paper submission is done

via EasyChair at https://easychair.org/my/conference?conf=ftscs2019.

The final version of the paper must be prepared in LaTeX, adhering to

the LNCS format available at



All accepted papers will appear in the pre-proceedings of FTSCS 2019.

Accepted papers in the categories A-D above will appear in the

workshop proceedings that will be published as a volume in

Springer's CCIS series. 

The authors of a selected subset of accepted papers will be invited to

submit extended versions of their papers to appear in a special issue

of the Science of Computer Programming journal.

Important dates:

Submission deadline: September 3, 2019

Notification of acceptance: October 4, 2019

Workshop: November 9, 2019


Shenzhen, China

Program chairs:

Frederic Mallet      INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France

Osman Hasan          National University of Sciences & Technology, Pakistan

Program committee:

Étienne André        Université Paris 13, France

Toshiaki Aoki        JAIST, Japan

Cyrille Artho        KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

Kyungmin Bae         Pohang University of Science and Technology, Korea

Daniel Fava          University of Oslo, Norway

Sabine Glesner       Technical University of Berlin, Germany

Osman Hasan          National University of Sciences & Technology, Pakistan

Klaus Havelund       NASA JPL, USA

Jerome Hugues        Institute for Space and Aeronautics Engineering, France

Marieke Huisman      University of Twente, The Netherlands

Ralf Huuck           Synopsys, Australia

Fuyuki Ishikawa      National Institute of Informatics, Japan

Takashi Kitamura     AIST, Japan

Thierry Lecomte      ClearSy System Engineering, France

Yang Liu             Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Robi Malik           University of Waikato, New Zealand

Frederic Mallet      INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France

Roberto Nardone      University of Napoli "Federico II", Italy

Thomas Noll          RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Peter Olveczky       University of Oslo, Norway

David Pearce         Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand

Markus Roggenbach    Swansea University, UK

Ralf Sasse           ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Martina Seidl        Johannes Kepler University, Austria

Graeme Smith         The University of Queensland , Australia

Sofiene Tahar        Concordia University, Canada

Carolyn Talcott      SRI International, USA

Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya   Osaka University, Japan

Andras Voros         Budapest University of Technology and Economics,

Mark Utting          University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia

Michael Whalen       University of Minnesota, USA

Huibiao Zhu          East China Normal University, China

More information about the FMIndia mailing list