[FM-India] FORMATS 2015 Last Call for Papers - Extended Deadlines

FORMATS Conference formats2015 at gmail.com
Thu Apr 16 23:34:30 IST 2015

[ Apologies for cross posting ]


                           FORMATS 2015
                  13th International Conference on
            Formal Modeling and Analysis of Timed Systems

                      Madrid, September 2-4

         Extended deadlines: April 27 (Abstract), May 4 (Paper)
         Proceedings: Lecture Notes on Computer Science (Springer)
         Special issue on the Journal of Real Time Systems



Timing aspects of systems from a variety of computer science domains
have been treated independently by different communities.  Researchers
interested in semantics, verification and performance analysis study
models such as timed automata and timed Petri nets, the digital design
community focusses on propagation and switching delays, while
designers of embedded controllers have to take account of the time
taken by controllers to compute their responses after sampling the

Timing-related questions in these separate disciplines do have their
particularities.  However, there is a growing awareness that there are
basic problems that are common to all of them.  In particular, all
these sub-disciplines treat systems whose behavior depends upon
combinations of logical and temporal constraints; namely, constraints
on the temporal distances between occurrences of events.


The aim of FORMATS is to promote the study of fundamental and
practical aspects of timed systems, and to bring together researchers
from different disciplines that share interests in modelling and
analysis of timed systems.  Typical topics include (but are not
limited to):

* Foundations and Semantics:  Theoretical foundations of timed systems
     and languages; comparison between different models (timed
     automata, timed Petri nets, hybrid automata, timed process
     algebra, max-plus algebra, probabilistic models).

* Methods and Tools:  Techniques, algorithms, data structures, and
     software tools for analyzing timed systems and resolving temporal
     constraints (scheduling, worst-case execution time analysis,
     optimization, model checking, testing, constraint solving, etc.).

* Applications:  Adaptation and specialization of timing technology in
     application domains in which timing plays an important role
     (real-time software, hardware circuits, and problems of
     scheduling in manufacturing and telecommunication).

Paper Submission

FORMATS 2015 solicits high-quality papers reporting research results
and/or experience reports related to the topics mentioned above.
Submitted papers must contain original, unpublished contributions, not
submitted for publication elsewhere.  The papers should be submitted
electronically in PDF, following the Springer LNCS style guidelines.
Submissions should not exceed 15 pages in length.

Each paper will undergo a thorough review process.  If necessary, the
paper may be supplemented with a clearly marked appendix, which will
be reviewed at the discretion of the program committee.

Papers will be submitted electronically via EasyChair online
submission system.

Publication and special issue

The proceedings of FORMATS 2015 will be published by Springer in the
Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

A special issue dedicated to FORMATS will be hosted in the Journal of
Real Time Systems, Springer, collecting the extensions of papers
selected by quality and fitness to the Journal scope, and subject to
additional revision.

Important Dates

* Abstract submission: April 27, 2015 (extended)
* Paper submission: May 4, 2015 (extended)
* Notification of acceptance: June 10, 2015
* Final version due:  June 22, 2015
* Conference: September 2-4, 2015

Program Chairs

Sriram Sankaranarayanan (University of Colorado at Boulder, USA)
Enrico Vicario (University of Florence, Italy)

Program Committee

Bernard Berthomieu    (LAAS/CNRS, Toulouse, France)
Nathalie Bertrand     (INRIA Rennes, France)
Luca Bortolussi       (University of Trieste, Italy)
Marius Bozga          (VERIMAG/CNRS, Grenoble, France)
Victor Braberman      (University of Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Thomas Brihaye        (University of Mons, Belgium)
Laura Carnevali       (University of Florence, Italy)
Franck Cassez         (Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia)
Krishnendu Chatterjee (Institute of science and Technology, Austria)
Martin Fraenzle       (Carl von Ossietzky University, Oldenburg, Germany)
Goran Frehse          (VERIMAG / University of Grenoble, France)
Laurent Fribourg      (LSV, ENS Cachan & CNRS, France)
Radu Grosu            (Institute of Computer Engineering, Vienna, Austria)
Franjo Ivancic        (Google, New York, USA)
Xiaoqing Jin          (Toyota Technical Center, Los Angeles, USA)
Joost-Pieter Katoen   (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
Kai Lampka            (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Kim G. Larsen         (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Axel Legay            (IRISA/INRIA Rennes, France)
Didier Lime           (IRCCyN / Ecole Centrale de Nantes, France)
Giuseppe Lipari       (Lille University, France)
Oded Maler            (VERIMAG/CNRS, Grenoble, France)
Rahul Mangharam       (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Nicolas Markey        (LSV, ENS Cachan & CNRS, France)
Cesar Sanchez         (IMDEA Software Institute)
Krishna Shankara Narayanan  (Indian Institute Of Technology, Bombay, India)
Jeremy Sproston       (University of Turin, Italy)
Lothar Thiele         (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
Ashish Tiwari         (SR International, United States)
Louis-Marie Traonouez (IRISA/INRIA Rennes, France)
Stavros Tripakis      (Aalto University, Finland, and UC Berkeley, USA)
Ashutosh Trivedi      (Indian Institute Of Technology, Bombay, India)
Frits Vaandrager      (Radboud University Nijmegen, the Netherlands)
Mahesh Viswanathan    (University of Illinois, Urbana, USA)

Steering Commitee

Rajeev Alur         (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Eugene Asarin       (LIAFA / University Paris Diderot, France)
Thomas A. Henzinger (Institute of Science and Technology, Austria)
Joost-Pieter Katoen (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
Kim G. Larsen       (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Oded Maler          (VERIMAG / CNRS, Grenoble, France)
Lothar Thiele       (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
Wang Yi             (Uppsala University, Sweden)

Venue and colocation

FORMATS 2015 will take place in Madrid, in the days 2-4 September

It will be colocated with QEST, CONCUR, TGC, EPEW, and WS-FM/BEAT, as
part of Madrid Meet 2015 (http://mafalda.fdi.ucm.es/madrid2015/), a
week on quantitative and formal methods for computer safety,
reliability, and performance:

26th Conference on Concurrency Theory

12th International Conference on
Quantitative Evaluation of SysTems

13th International Conference on
Formal Modeling and Analysis of Timed Systems

10th International Symposium on
Trustworthy Global Computing

International Symposium on
Web Services, Formal Methods and Behavioural Types

EPEW 2015
12th European Workshop on Performance Engineering

Combined 22nd International Workshop on
Expressiveness in Concurrency and
12th Workshop on Structured Operational Semantics

2nd International Workshop on Parameterized Verification



14th International Workshop on
Foundations of Coordination Languages and Self-Adaptation

More information about the FMIndia mailing list