[FM-India] ICTAC 2012 - call for papers

Abhik Roychoudhury abhik at comp.nus.edu.sg
Wed Mar 28 16:52:02 IST 2012

Submission deadline is in less than 3 weeks, conference is in September.


Call for Papers

ICTAC 2012

9th International Colloquium on Theoretical Aspects of Computing

URL: http://www.iiitb.ac.in/ictac

24 - 27 September 2012, Bangalore, India


The Colloquium will be held at the International Institute of 
Information Technology (IIIT), which is located in

Electronics City of Bangalore. It is two hours by car or taxi from 
Bangalore International Airport. Bangalore is
internationally known as the Silicon Valley of India, with many hi-tech 
companies and research labs. Holding the
conference in the Electronics City of Bangalore gives the conference 
participants valuable opportunity to discuss
and network with the software practitioners and researchers in India’s 
Information Technology (IT) hub. This will
be further facilitated via an Industry Day, a special feature of ICTAC 2012.



Regular and Short Paper submission deadline: 16 April 2012



ICTAC 2012 is the 9th International Colloquium on Theoretical Aspects of 
Computing, the latest in a series founded

by the International Institute for Software Technology of the United 
Nations University (UNU-IIST). ICTAC 2012 will

bring together practitioners and researchers from academia, industry and 
government to present research and to exchange

ideas and experience addressing challenges in both theoretical aspects 
of computing and in the exploitation of theory

through methods and tools for system development. The other main purpose 
is to promote cooperation in research and

education between participants and their institutions, from developing 
and industrial countries, as in the mandate

of the United Nations University.


The topics of the conference include, but are not limited to:

* automata theory and formal languages;

* principles and semantics of programming languages;

* logics and their applications;

* software architectures and their description languages;

* relationship between software requirements, models and code;

* software specification, refinement, verification and testing;

* model checking and theorem proving;

* formal techniques in software testing;

* models of object and component systems;

* coordination and feature interaction;

* integration of theories, formal methods and tools for

engineering computing systems;

* service-oriented architectures: models and development methods;

* models of concurrency, security, and mobility;

* theory of parallel, distributed, grid and cloud computing;

* real-time, embedded, hybrid and cyber-physical systems;

* type and category theory in computer science;

* models for learning and education;

* case studies, theories, tools and experiments of verified systems;

* domain-specific modeling and technology: examples, frameworks

and experience.


ICTAC 2012 will feature an Industry Day, a special feature being 
introduced to the ICTAC colloquium for the first

time. One of the days of the conference is planned to be marked as 
Industry Day. The industry day will feature

technical talks from the industry participants. These talks will be 
drawn from the papers submitted and accepted to

the conference; however any such paper must have at least one co-author 
from the Industry and must be clearly marked

for “Industry Day” during submission. In addition, we plan to have tool 
demonstrations and posters by the companies

in the exhibition floor. Participants from academia will thus also get a 
chance to mingle with the industry participants

in an informal atmosphere, thereby getting a flavor of the ongoing 
activities in Bangalore’s IT industry.

Industry Day Co-chairs: Sriram Rajamani (Microsoft Research)

Satish Chandra (IBM Research)


* Gernot Heiser, UNSW (for Industry Day)

* Luke Ong, Oxford

* Ganesan Ramalingam, Microsoft Research


The proceedings of ICTAC 2012 will be published by Springer

in the series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) and

will be available at the colloquium. A special issue of a

journal with extended version of selected papers from

ICTAC 2012 is under negotiation.

Submissions to the colloquium must not have been published

or be concurrently considered for publication elsewhere.

All submissions will be judged on the basis of originality,

contribution to the field, technical and presentation quality,

and relevance to the conference.

Submissions can be either Regular Papers or Short Papers.

Short papers can present recent or ongoing work or discuss new

ideas which are at an early stage of development and have not

been thoroughly evaluated yet.

Papers should be written in English. Regular Papers should not

exceed 15 pages and Short Papers should be between 4 and 8 pages

in LNCS format (see http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html

for details).

Papers shall be submitted at


All queries should be sent to: ictac2012 at iist.unu.edu


Paper submission deadline: 16 April 2012

Paper Accept/Reject Notification: 8 June 2012

Final paper submission: 29 June 2012


* Ana Cavalcanti, University of York, UK

* Supratik Chakraborty, IIT Mumbai, India

* Satish Chandra, IBM Watson, USA

* Yifeng Chen, Peking University, China

* Meenakshi D’Souza, IIIT Bangalore, India

* Thao Dang, Verimag, France

* Frank S. deBoer, CWI, Netherlands

* Xinyu Feng, USTC, China

* John Fitzgerald, University of Newcastle, UK

* Susanne Graf, Verimag, France

* Lindsay Groves, Victoria University, New Zealand

* Zhenjiang Hu, NII, Japan

* Lei Ju, Shandong University, China

* Moonzoo Kim, KAIST, Korea

* Daniel Kroening, Oxford University, UK

* Kim G. Larsen, Aalborg University, Denmark

* Martin Leucker, TU Munich, Germany

* Zhiming Liu, UNU-IIST, Macau SAR, China

* Kamal Lodaya, Inst. of Mathematical Sciences, India

* Annabelle McIver Macquarie University, Australia

* Madhavan Mukund, Chennai Mathematical Inst., India

* Kedar Namjoshi, Bell Labs, USA

* Jun Pang, Univ. of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

* Sanjiva Prasad, IIT Delhi, India

* Geguang Pu, ECNU, China

* Zongyan Qiu, Peking University, China

* Anders P. Ravn, Aalborg University, Denmark

* Abhik Roychoudhury, National University of Singapore, Singapore (Chair)

* Diptikalyan Saha, IBM Research, India

* Augusto Sampaio, UFPE, Brazil

* Bikram Sengupta, IBM Research, India

* R.K. Shyamasundar, TIFR, India

* Sofiene Tahar, Concordia University, Canada

* Kapil Vaswani, Microsoft Research, India

* Wang Yi, Uppsala University, Sweden

* Naijun Zhan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

* Jianjun Zhao, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China


* Meenakshi D’ Souza, IIIT-B (General Chair)

* Jun Pang, Univ. of Luxembourg (Publicity Chair)

* Deepak D’Souza, Indian Institute of Science

* Sumesh Divakaran, IIIT-B.


* John Fitzgerald, UK

* Martin Leucker, Germany

* Zhiming Liu, Macau SAR China (Chair)

* Tobias Nipkow, Germany

* Augusto Sampaio, Brazil

* Natarajan Shankar, USA

* Jim Woodcock, UK

More information about the FMIndia mailing list